Messages can be handled in various ways, but typically you can respond to the message or assign (or re-assign) a message to another staff or workgroup.
- New messages from patient will increment the number on the Message Icon and appear in the Inbox as show below. Click on the message for more options.
1. Replying to a Patient. This default selection allows you to type a response and send the message.
- Un-check Allow Response box before sending your response will to the conversation. This action effectively ends this message thread, and will not allow a reply from the patient.
- If you do allow a response, then checking the Allow Attachments box will enable the patient to send you file(s) attached to their reply.
- The Mask Name option will not identify who responded to the patient. The sender will be displayed as Clinic Staff.
- The Billable option will allow you to type in the Fee Code where applicable. A report will be available for each billing cycle.
- Attach File will open up a space to prompt you for a file to send to the patient. Please note that the attachment will only be stored for seven days after the patient downloads it, and it will be deleted off the system.
- The Do Not Notify Me if Unread option is default. However, in situations where you wish to be notified if the patient has not read the message, the system will notify you.
- The Reply to Patient button sends your response but leaves the message in your Inbox.
- The Send and Download will send your response, download the entire conversation into the patient's records (currently working in PS Suite only), and close the conversation.
2. Assign a message by clicking on the Assign tab.
- Choose a recipient next to the bubbles. You can choose a workgroup or an individual staff.
- Use the drop down menu for more recipient choices. You can choose a workgroup or an individual staff.
- Type your Comments if appropriate and click the Assign Conversation button. Note that comments between assigner/assignee will not be viewed by the patient.